Management Team

Prof. Dr. Murat Uysal


Murat Uysal received the B.Sc. and the M.Sc. degree in electronics and communication engineering from Istanbul Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey, in 1995 and 1998, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, in 2001. Dr. Uysal is currently a Full Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering at Ozyegin University, Istanbul, Turkey. He also serves as the Founding Director of Center of Excellence in Optical Wireless Communication Technologies (OKATEM). Prior to joining Ozyegin University, he was a tenured Associate Professor at the University of Waterloo, Canada, where he still holds an adjunct faculty position. Dr. Uysal’s research interests are in the broad areas of communication theory and signal processing with a particular emphasis on the physical layer aspects of wireless communication systems in radio and optical frequency bands. He is particularly well known with his pioneering contributions on optical wireless communications. He has authored some 350 journal and conference papers on these topics and received more than 14000 citations. Dr. Uysal’s distinctions include the Marsland Faculty Fellowship in 2004, NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement Award in 2008, University of Waterloo Engineering Research Excellence Award in 2010, Turkish Academy of Sciences Distinguished Young Scientist Award in 2011 and Ozyegin University Best Researcher Award in 2014 among others.

Burak Kebapçı


Burak Kebapçı received his B.Sc. degree in electrical and electronics engineering with a minor in computer engineering from Bahcesehir University in 2015. In 2017, he graduated from Ozyegin University with a M.Sc. degree, where he was the Engineering Team Lead of the Center of Excellence in Optical Wireless Communications Technologies (OKATEM). During his studies, he designed and implemented a software defined radio solution for intelligent transportation systems, which won the National Instruments Engineering Impact Award in the category of RF/Mobile Communications. His expertise is in the software design and hardware implementation of optical wireless communication systems.